Fire and Rescue

Volunteer Fire Department

Volunteer Fire and Rescue

The Town of Dayton is served by a volunteer fire department known as the Dayton Volunteer Fire Department and operating within the Dayton Fire District. The district serves both the town and surrounding area. The Volunteer Fire Department also operates a First Responder Ambulance in conjunction with 911 Ambulance Service of Sheridan County.

The department has 6 trucks:

  • # 100 Command/ Rescue                                      1999 Ford F-250 SLT 4x4 Super Duty Power-stroke
  • # 101 Type 3 Wildland/Urban Interface/Rescue       2005 International 7400 4x4- 500 gallon                         
  • # 102 Water Tender                                              2005 International 7300 4x4 1200 gallon
  • # 103 Type 6 Wildland Engine                                2016 Ford F-550 XLT 4x4 Super Duty 400 gallon
  • # 104 Structure Engine                                         2009 Freightliner 4x4 750 gallon
  • # 106 Rescue Unit Type 1                                      2002 Ford F-450 XLT 4x4 Super Duty Power-Stroke 

Note: All vehicles can pump from out of a stream, fire hydrant or storage tank.

The fire station is located at 600 Broadway. According to the agreement between the Town of Dayton and the Fire District, Dayton provides the building, personnel and most of the operating costs of the department.